MySQL, PHP, and Turck MMCache

When I first started playing this the MovableType weblog, I used the default Berkley database files. Wanting to try and get as much speed as possible out of the system, I decided to upgrade to MySQL. Because I am not a database person, I wanted to install the phpMyAdmin software that makes working with MySQL very easy via a web front-end. In order to install phpMyAdmin, I needed to add php-mysql package to my Linux server. When I did this, it also forced me to upgrade my basic php package as well. I thought not a big, so I went ahead and did it.

Later I wanted to see who my installed copy of Turck MMCache, a PHP accelerator, optimizer, encoder and dynamic content cache, was working, and low and behold it was broken. So I tried to recompile and reinstall. After a couple of tries with no success, I was able to determine that it was using an older version of php, but I had no idea how to fix it. It hit me today, that maybe when I upgraded php that not everything got upgraded. I was right, the php-devel package was not upgraded, so I recompiled again after upgrading and everything is working again.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

