Compressed website

One of the things that I tried recently was to use the mod_deflate feature of Apache. This module allows for webpages to be compressed before being sent to the client. While my site is still pretty small, the main page of this blog is large enough to be a slow download over a modem. From some of the testing sites I visited, it looks like the size of the raw HTML page is reduced to 1/4 the size of the original (from about 45k to 11k). I’m sure there are a bunch more settings that I could tweak, but I’m going to leave like it is and see how things work over the next couple of days.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. This mod_deflate feature is very interesting. This seems similar to the new “high-speed” services that dial-up ISP’s have been advertising like NetZero and AOL. I think these ISP’s just compress images sent to the clients so that pages load faster. -Ken

  2. I’ve never used one of “high-speed” dialup services, but in theory they have to be doing some type of compression/cacheing to speed up service. My guess, is that all traffic must have to go through a proxy/caching server. At the server they probably store a compressed copy of the cacheable items for user download. Because the compression process is kind of CPU intensive, I’m not sure what they do with the items not in their cache.

    They may also do some type of predictive download, where they either monitor the user’s browsing prefences, or the links on the page, and start will start downloading the possible next content the user might go to while he/she is reading the current page.

  3. I ma trying to run mod_deflate here, any help or comment will be appreciated. 🙂 If someone need help, ask me, I will try to help ASAP.

  4. kbn

     /  January 26, 2004

    I just did a basic install. I added the following lines to my httpd.conf file.

    SetOutputFilter DEFLATE
    AddOutputFilterByType DEFLATE text/html text/plain text/xml

    I know that is not the best solution, but it got me what I wanted. What I’m not sure about is whether my PHP generated pages are compressed. I’m going to have to test that.

    I found this site to be helpful http://webcompression.org/

Leave a Reply

