Laptop and new Linux install

I think I mentioned a week or so ago that I got an older Sony Vaio Z505R laptop working again. It’s a 333MHz box so I thought that I’d install Linux on it and maybe replace the box on which this blog is running. I decided to go with White Box Linux (I’ll post more about that another time). Well after numerous attempts to get it installed (the Z505 has some interesting hardware). I finally got it going. It’s been installing in my office this afternoon, well the machine is quite loud. The fan is going, but I think the culprit is the harddrive. I’m now wondering if I want to have this thing running all the time in my office at the house. The current Dell that it would replace is much quieter. I have to kill the install and redo it again. So I’m going to have think about this one. Once I figure it out, I’ll let you know what I decided.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

