Testing new blog software

After reading the announcement about the changes to the pricing for Movable Type (the software that powers this blog), I started looking at alternatives. The pricing changes really don’t effect me, I run just 1 bog with 1 author so it is still free for me to use, but I figured I’d take a look. After reading a bunch of posts from others who are definitely looking to switch, it seems that a lot of people are going to WordPress. To quote their website, WordPress is a state-of-the-art semantic personal publishing platform with a focus on aesthetics, web standards, and usability.

WordPress is a PHP based blog system. What this means is that all of the pages are created dynamically when a user requests to view them. This gives the website a lot of flexibility. In particular it means that you can have content that changes between blog postings. I decided to give it a whirl, so I downloaded a copy and installed it. Then I imported all of my existing blog entries. It went like a dream. Everything came in really nicely.

There is a lot to like about the system, the only problem that I have is related to my hardware. The box this blog runs on is just too slow. It takes between 2-10 seconds for it to create a web page. That may not seem like a long time, but it can feel like it if you are waiting for a page to appear. The nice thing about MT is that it builds static pages, which load in under 1 second, but it is slow for posting comments, etc. I plan to keep playing with WordPress as I have time, who knows I may make the conversion.

[Listening to: Mercy Me (Love Is My Responsibility) by Bryan Duncan – Mercy (3:17)]
Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

