Revisiting WordPress

Over the past couple of weeks, I’ve started looking at WordPress again. It has a lot of things going for it. One of the nicest is a hack by one of the developers, called Asides. It allows for posting quick little items. One of the problems that I currently have is that sometimes I get overwhelmed when trying to write a posting. I feel that I have to write this long posting with meaningful thoughts or really creative ideas. This asides feature would allow me to write quick entries on things that interest me at the moment. The downside (at least for me) is that WordPress is dynamic (i.e. it generates the page each time it is viewed). While this increases the ability to do cool things, on my slow box, it is really slow. There are some things that allow for caching with WP, and they seem to work well. I’m still looking for a good layout too. I really like the one that I’m currently using (it is one of the defaults with MovableType). I’ve found a couple that are pretty cool, but they need to be tweaked, and I’m just not good enough without doing a lot of research and trial and error to get what I want without tons of time (which I don’t have).

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Hopefully you’re not following my lead. Last month I think I switched blog software about 3 times from Blogsphere to Serendipity (S9Y) to phpNuke. I really like phpNuke except for a few things but all in all a great package. I also looked at WordPress and Moveable Type but they didn’t offer the things I wanted. I believe I also looked at Geeklog, XOOPS and some other one. Oh yeah, the phpGedView you turned me on to integrates well into phpNuke, you can check it out on my site. Hope you find the time to get it all going and good luck making a decision 😀

    Keith

Leave a Reply

