Nagois, PerfParse, and MySQL

I’ve spent most of the day working to install PerfParse into my Nagios install at work. Nagios is an open source host, service and network monitoring program that we use to track the state of our network. PerfParse add the ability to track, storage, and graph performance data within the Nagios system. Currently we use APAN (within Nagios) or MRTG (outside of Nagios) for doing that, but they both have some limitations.

So I updated Nagios and all the plugins as required for the PerfParse install. Next I go to build the database, and guess what. It requires MySQL 4.X. The box that I’m running on is an old RedHat 7.3 install, and there are no RedHat RPMs to upgrade. So it looks like I’ll either have to build a test box to try this on or upgrade my current aging box.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Why not just compile and install MySQL 4.x from the sources??? Redhat 7.3 should be able to handle it. If it can’t you’ll have to remove it and reinstall MySQL 3.x and upgrade, which you were gonna do anyways so you wouldn’t have lost that much time.

    Keith

  2. That’s probably what I’ll do, but I was unwilling to do that on a Friday afternoon before a holiday on a production server that monitors our firms entire network ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. ๐Ÿ˜€ That’s understandable. Can’t say I would be willing to possibly sacrafice my 3 day weekend either ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. I got version 4.X of MySQL running on the box and PerfParse functioning, but after testing for about a week I found that the db requirements were too great. The data files were taking up about 150 MBs for less than one week, and that was more than I was willing to spend. I probably could have kept 4 weeks of data, but I like to look at trends over a longer period of time. So while I really liked the app, I decided to go with something else (Nagiosgraph)

Leave a Reply

