Down, down, down

Well, my cable modem is down in flames. I redid the power cords last night, and it worked for quite a while so I thought that I was good again. But this morning it was down again (different lights this time). So reset it again, it worked until I got into the office and tried to access my box. Then it died again. It was down all day, so when I got home tonight I tried again. It worked for about 5 minutes. So as a last ditch effort (until the new modem arrives) I did a factory reset. I know you’re not supposed to do that unless your ISP tells you to, but I was desperate. It has come back up (somewhat). When I look at the diagnostics page, it shows everything as synced and operational, but I’m not able to communicate across the cable connection. I’ll let it sit and see what happens; at this point I have nothing to lose.

The last estimate I had for the new cable modem was a Friday arrival. Let’s hope that it comes in on Friday, because I don’t know what I’ll do without net access for the weekend.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. So, does your family call you at work to inform you that the internet isn’t working? 😀

    “Hello, Strickland family tech support, How may I help you today?” 😀

    Keith

  2. The mantra for my friends is, “I’m just a manager (IT) now, and I’m not that up to date on all the lastest things so you’re better off asking someone else.”

    For my close family its, “I’ll see what I can do, but don’t hold your breath!” 🙂

    Honestly, I try to help when I can, but often for PC repair/recommendations I get one of my staff to answer the question for me (there are a few perks to being a manager.) 😉

Leave a Reply

