Don’t break my routine

Yesterday morning I had a harrowing moment. My typical routine when I get home from work is put my keys, phone, watch and wallet on top of the refrigerator. Well, on Thursday for some reason, I didn’t do that when I got home. I put everything on the dining room table, with the intention of moving it all later.

Friday morning I get up and get ready for work. I go downstairs, take my medicine, and then reach for my stuff on top of the refrigerator. It’s not there! No big deal I remember that its on the dining room table and say to myself not to forget to get it on my way out.

The next step in my morning routine is to grab breakfast out of the pantry (breakfast for me usually consists of some type of fruit and grain bar.) Again I break my routine; I get to pantry and grab a new type of “breakfast bar.” The box says to try them hot, just put them in the microwave for 10 seconds and you’re done. So I do this, grab a paper towel and walk out the door.

Oops! The door locks behind me, and I have no keys, wallet, or phone and Fern is not home. Now what am I going to do? Luckily our neighbor across the street is getting ready to leave. I think we’ve given her a key to the house, so I rush over and stop her before she leaves. She does not have a key! Luckily she does have a key to another neighbor’s house, who does have a key to ours. I get back into the house, get my stuff, return the keys and finally, breathe a big sigh of relief.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

