Fixed My Zeitgeist

Unbeknown to me my Zeitgeist page was not updating correctly. All it took was a quick fix once I noticed that it was broken. So hop on over and look at what people are searching for to get to this site.

The German word zeitgeist means, literally, “time ghost,” figuratively meaning the “spirit of the time,” and search engine traffic can provide a peek at this. Most webloggers (including me) pay an inordinate amount of attention to their referer logs, the logs made by the web server that show the page from which a visitor linked to their site. A significant fraction of these inbound links come from Internet search engines such as Google, Yahoo, or MSN, and the search terms people used to find your site can be as entertaining as they are informative.

This pages shows search engine referrals in a decorative way that visually indicates the number of times a term was used to find your site by altering the text size. It is update once a day.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Wow, I love this zeitgeist thing!! Is it your own script?

  2. Thanks, it is pretty cool.

    No it is not my own script (although I did some slight modification to it a long time ago). I originally found it on a site called tensegrity.net, but that site is now offline. Thankfully the Internet Archive Wayback Machine has a copy of the site. You find the link to the script and directions at SearchReferralZeitgeist

    Drop my a line if you get it working.

Leave a Reply

