Book Meme

This is the first meme in which I have participated. Memes have basically become the Internet version of a chain-letter. I was not tagged by anyone, but have come across enough of these that I felt I should participate too.

Total number of books I’ve owned:
I probably own over 100 books, and by the time you throw all the kids book into the mix then we’re definitely over 200.

The last book I bought:
Because we have a good library, I don’t buy many books these days. The last book that I purchased was iPhoto 4: The Missing Manual by David Pogue. It was a good overview of the program (I had last used version 1 of iPhoto), and it helped prepare me for the projects that I wanted to create in iDVD.

The last book I read:
W.E.B. Griffin’s By Order of the President. By Order of the President continues Griffin’s military thriller novel tradition with a set of characters. I actually read this book over the course of two very late nights (I think I got to bed after 3 AM both nights)

I actually listen to a whole lot more books on tape then I actually read. The last book that I listened to was Air Battle Force by Dale Brown. “Patrick McLanahan is back again, this time as air force major general in charge of the First Air Battle Force, a secret experimental unit with the controls to a jackpot of high-tech toys, among them air-retrievable bomb-carrying drones, venerable B-52s packing brand-new, high-powered lasers, and B-1s (called Vampires) capable of carrying out unmanned missions.”

Five books that mean a lot to me:
This question actually took a while for me answer. All of the books listed are works of fiction either form the genre of science fiction or fantasy. Most were read when I was in Middle or High School and all of them shaped my future reading patterns as well as becoming some of my favorite authors.

  • Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card. This is my all-time, hands-down favorite book. I must have read this book at least 6 times. This Hugo and Nebula Award-winning novel tells the story of child genius Ender Wiggin who is drafted, trained, and pushed into saving the Earth from malevolent alien “buggers.” People who read this book almost always fall into one of two camps. They either love this book to death, or they just don’t get it or like it. I think part of this has to do with your own childhood experiences and much you “fit it” with other kids. My quotes page has number of quotes from this book and others by Orson Scott Card.
  • The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkein – I can’t remember when I first read The Hobbit, but I do remember reading the entire Lord of the Rings trilogy while visiting England during Christmas break of my 8th grade year. While I had already read a lot of Sci-Fi prior to reading Tolkiein’s masterpieces, it was these stories that sparked my love of fantasy and set the standard by which I judge all other fantasy novels. My quotes page has number of quotes from these books.
  • Camber of Culdi was the first book by Katherine Kurtz that I read and it sparked a 20 year obsession with her work. Her series of the time and struggles of the Deryni are intensely detailed, historical fiction like depictions of the fall and rebirth of the Deryni race. I own all her Deryni works, including the limited edition Codex Deryninus and a number of self published short stories. Katherine has the knack of creating characters with whom you immediately identify and understand. They become/are as “real” as any living person until she, more often then not, kill them off.
  • The Moon is a Harsh Mistress by Robert A. Heinlein is one of his best works. Even though this book was written in the mid-sixties it is still a poignant story for today. While this is technically a Sci-Fi book and that is how I enjoyed it the first time I read it, it is really political treatise on the role and responsibility of government. For better or for worse, I have never been really good at finding the “hidden” meaning and themes within the books I read. I often just read the stories at face value for the “entertainment” of the story, but Heinlein has a way of getting past the causal story and getting his point across. Heinlein popularized the term TANSTAAFL (There Ain’t No Such Thing As A Free Lunch) with this book. My quotes page has number of quotes from this book and others by Robert A. Heinlein.
  • Star Wars: Tales from Mos Eisley Cantina by Kevin J. Anderson. While there are probably over 50 books in the Star Wars universe (and I’ve read most of them), this is by far the best one. Even knows the story of “most infamous cantina in the universe”, but only from Luke Skywalker’s point of view. The 16 short stories in this collection revolve around the other “people” in the Mos Eisley Cantina. Each person sitting in that cantina has a tale to tell and provides a differing perspective on the events of that day. I also have a few quotes from the movie.

Tag five other blogs:
My problem is that don’t know five other bloggers well enough to tag, so here are the two that do know: Rusty’s Ramblings and Mike’s Blog. Tag you guys are it.

If you don’t have your own blog but want to participate, then leave your answers as a comment to this posting. Also, feel free to comment if you’ve read any of these books.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Believe it or not, I am working on this (slowly)… I’ve had a draft saved for a couple of days which I’m slowly working on.

Leave a Reply

