Daylight Savings Time (or Why Summer is Wrong)

Summer in Maryland is just wrong!. I’ve lived on the East Coast for the last 14 years and ever since moving here I’ve always felt that summer has been, well just … wrong. I could never put my finger on what felt different, until now.

Let me back up for a minute and provide you with some points of reference. First off, I have never been (and never will be) a morning person. I’m not nocturnal like Fern is, but I really don’t like waking up early. Second, I grew up in Ohio. With all of that said, I’ve always been bothered by summer here on the East Coast.

It wasn’t until our extended vacation in Ohio (particularly the camping part) that I figured out way. The days truly are longer in Ohio. It gets dark much later in Ohio than here in Maryland. I mean 30-45 minutes later. There were a couple of nights that we were finishing up dinner after 9:15 PM and it was still light out.

So they have better Daylight Savings Time in Ohio? Well … YES! The reason is because they are on the western side of the time zone and we’re here on the eastern. It makes their days end later (but the sun also rises later). Oh how I wish we could have that extra half hour of light here in the east.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Strangely enough, ARIZONA is on one time zone for half the year and another for the other half of the year. Or, wait — let me rephrase. ARIZONA is an hour ahead of CALIFORNIA (where I’m from) half the year, then the same time as CA the other half.

    I saw a news piece on a guy who had a house on the time zone line — half the house was in one zone, half was in the other. It was awesome.

  2. Mom

     /  August 18, 2005

    I didn’t know you were so good at writing humor. Like your dad-it just slilps out which makes it that much funnier. Enjoyed this piece. The solution? Get a job in OH and move back.

    Love,
    Mom

  3. I agree with your Mom….

    That way you will be both happier.

    By the way, if you have any Happy News
    to tell the world about, come to my blog
    and post them.

    We are on a mission to find more happy news
    than bad news.

    Marie

Leave a Reply

