Somewhere Over the Rainbow IZ Amazing

Facing FutureLast night as I was flipping through channels I caught the last few minutes of 50 First Dates (a good movie by the way). Near the end of the movie, there is song almost moves me to tears every time I hear it. It is this haunting version of Somewhere Over the Rainbow. Having heard it a couple of times I was determined to find out more about the song and the artist.

The song was recorded by the Hawaiian artist, Israel “Iz” Kamakawiwo�ole, in 1993 on his album Facing Future. Iz was a very popular performer in Hawai’i, so much so that when he died in 1997 (at the age of 38) he lay in state at the Capitol building in Honolulu.

The song is actually a combination of Somewhere Over the Rainbow and What a Wonderful World that was recorded in one take. If interested, you can read the story behind Iz’s recording.

I have provide a sample of the song at the following link: somewhere.mp3 (right click and save as). If you would like to download the entire song you either purchase it from the iTunes Music Store, or there is a link halfway down the page at the following site Epistemographer

Update: Becuase someone was hotlinking the song off of my site, I have removed the download sample option. I recommend that you either purchase the song from iTunes or check out the site that I mentioned above.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Beautiful! Thank you so much for sharing the information. I love that song and I definitely love this version.

  2. hey, it was my pleasure. I really enjoy the song and now listen to it almost every day.

  3. Stacey

     /  January 16, 2006

    This version of this song moves me to tears whenever I hear it. I heard it first when Anthony Edwards passed away on ER. But the song put me in a place that I don’t think any other song has done. I looked for it then, but couldn’t find anything until much later, when the song had made its name. While listening to this, I travel miles away from current problems, and for just a few minutes, I am somewhere far away. For just a moment, I can be with my mother again, who has passed on. For just one space in time, there is peace. Thank you IZ, for what you did that one night late in a recording studio.

  4. Thanks so much for the recording story! I love the IZ song,
    “Somewhere Over the Rainbow!” Everytime I hear the song, it gives me a warm feeling inside, and a feeling of hope. The story of how the song was recorded made me love the song even more! Thanks so much! Carol

  5. Betsy

     /  March 12, 2006

    Thank you, I too love this song, it is so beautiful. This version is great! I totally forgot, I also heard it on ER too, I love it, it is a wonderful song! My heart just drops when I hear this song!!! Has to be my favorite.

  6. melissa ann

     /  August 27, 2006

    hi thanks for the version.
    i was searchin for this song almost everyday but now ive heard it..
    amazing isnt it?
    it keeps me at peace in my mind and spirit..
    i surely love this song especially after i heard it in the movie…a really great movie..
    melissa tiro

Leave a Reply

