Dell PowerVault 220 are Junk, and I’m Tired!

What a couple of weeks I’ve had. We have a pair of Dell PowerVault 220s at the office. Each of these hold 1.2 TBs of data and provides about half the data storage for the entire company. When the boxes work, they work just fine, but watch out if they start to fail. What follows are my tired, frustrated, ramblings.

Two weeks ago, we had one just go totally offline from the server to which it was attached (for no reason). That resulted in an entire day of downtime as we had to restore from tape (it wouldn’t come back on-line cleanly). Then this past Saturday, we had a drive failure in the same one. That resulted in 6 hours of work on Saturday to get it back on-line and an update to Windows Server 2003 SP1 (Dell told us to do this), before they would admit that it was a hardware problem and ship us a replacement drive.

Jump forward three days. On Tuesday morning another drive in array died, while we’re still in the process of doing the full backup. Of course the RAID-5, array that is supposed to fail-over gracefully when a drive dies, didn’t and the server crashed, hard. We were able to bring the crippled server back on-line and complete the backup. After that was done, a Dell technician replaced every part in the unit except for the “good” drives and the case. So we started the process of restoring data. Down all day Tuesday.

Today, we’re having problems with the restore, therefore part of the server is still offline (as of 7:00 PM). We have to babysit the restore because it stops after 1 hour and 45 minutes (Veritas says we need to do a reinstall with the latest patch, but not until we’re completed the restores we have going right now). So we’ve broken the job up into parts that take about an hour for each task. It is going to be another really late night.

AAGGGHHH!!!!

Needless to say, I’m frustrated, frazzled, and tired. The firm’s partners are fairly understanding, but they’re not happy to say the least. At the height of downtime, it cost us a bunch in lost billings per hour. So on Friday, I will have to do a de-brief and lessons learned presentation. That will be followed of a couple months of intensive research into what technologies we can implement to better protect ourselves and minimize downtime. (Until now they weren’t ready to spend the kind of money that this will cost).

The silver lining in all of this is that we’ll get a lot of new technology to implement. Finally something “fun” to sink my teeth into again.

Leave a comment

46 Comments

  1. there is always a bright side to things

  2. Frodo

     /  February 1, 2006

    hi,
    we had some similar problems with this 220s from dell.

    Once a day one disc has failed in the storage and was replaced.
    A week later another disc has failed in the storage and was also replaced.

    So far so good.
    But then the storagebox was off after the weekend, without any reason.
    The result was corrupt data on the system and a lot of night work.

    The box had this error three times on sunday at more or less the same time. The answer from dell was: “could you please first update all firmware and all drivers and bios? But be sure that you have a full backup before you start”
    What a bad joke!!
    After that we made for three weeks a monitoring of our powerlines and ups but we didn’t found something. So it’s really weared and makes no sense, because we did not updated all that stuff and it stops itself for the moment.
    For me it’s clear that we need other storage hardware as soon as possible.

  3. As I just posted, we had another outage. 4 times in 6 months across two different powevaults. The funny (in an ironic sense) thing, is that next week I have a storage consultant coming in to help us analyze our system and plan a strategy for replacing.

    I’ll be posting about how that does.

  4. Eddy

     /  April 3, 2006

    We are having the same situation with the Powervault 220s. After 2 hard drive failure last month, we got 4 today at the same time. I really don’t understand what is happening. Just wanted to share this with you.

  5. david hajek

     /  April 4, 2006

    We have same issues. Faulty drives which brings PowerVault on his knees. We have 5 downtime in last 6 months. This is not acceptable. I’m working with Dell to return that box.

  6. Eddy and David,

    Sorry to hear you are having problems too. The more research I do and talking to experts in the data world, I’m coming to believe that the PERC controllers are real problem. The PowerVaults are just a “dumb” disk array. It is the PERC cards that where the supposed “smarts” are, and they are really bad.

    Becuase of our ongoing problems, Dell shipped us an entirely new powervault, with new drives and a new PERC card. All supposed been “burned-in”. When we hooked it all up the first 4 drives could not be seen. Turns out it was the PERC controller.

    In any case, we are actively looking to move away from the Dell product line for storage.

  7. If you are still looking for a replacement, call me. (603)964-7840. The best thing to do is to get away from a host based RAID solution; too difficult to troubleshoot and too much of an impact on your server. We have a stand alone RAID array at the same price as the Powervault 220 or 221S. Excellent reliability, simple plug and play, high performance, at a Powervault price!

  8. Gam

     /  May 19, 2006

    Ohhh I just googled PV220S for fun since I just installed 2 today on 4 PE26xx/1850 machines to Perc4 hosts – I guess I get to have “job security” at least – and I can put in my 2 weeks when it starts to look too bad. Thanks for the head’s up. ๐Ÿ™‚

    “Oh but that SAN is $20k!” says the boss.

    Where should I go for vacation after I put my 2 weeks in?

  9. Gam,

    With each addtional crash, I’m convinced it is the PERC controllers and not really the PV220s. We actually had a drive crash on us again this past week, but this time we had actually forgotten to configure the hot spare.

    We system ran just fine in degraded mode, we then got everyone off the server and replaced the drive. It started the rebuild and then we let everyone back on. It worked like it was supposed to.

    I think that the PERC 3 (and now PERC 4) controllers just can’t handle failing over or move to the hot spare when they are under any kind of load.

    My recommendation is not to configure any hot spares, but watch the boxes like a hawk. I recommend using Nagios and I’ve even written some scripts specific to the Dell PERC controllers, you can find them in Monitoring Dell Hardware with Nagios post.

  10. Steve

     /  June 27, 2006

    I have a bit of a different take and a question. I relocated offices with several 220’s and 2650’s I have had one loose its raid configuration. Any good suggestions, Yes they are the !@#$%^&*() perc3 cards. Im at the point of just blowing away the 2 bad logical volumes and rebuilding them. At leasts its only data not OS. But then one of my site techs notifies me that at one of his sites they lost power and now it is doing the same thing to him on one of his 220’s. all the lights are amber. Any good suggestions. Other than the trash can.
    I am also looking at making the move to alternative storage solutions. Have spoken to EMC and a company called left hand sloutions, http://www.lefthandnetworks.com/press/bcbr_reprint_121304_sm.pdf

    I like there solution it saves me from buying Fibra switches. it uses ISCSI and NIC cards. I have worked with NETWORK Applicance and I dont like then other problems as well as costly, any optiojn you want you pay for. and yearly renewals.

    Thanks for anything.

    Steve

  11. Steve,

    When were looking at vendors, one that made our short list for iSCSI solutions was EqualLogic. This made a really nice product that seemed like it was scale very nicely. You might want to take a look them. They were competitively priced too. I know some people who went the Left Hand route, and seemed to be happy with them.

    As far as your problems with dead and/or missing arrays. I would first suggest that you call Dell. Hopefully you are still under maintenance. If not then, the only advice is blow away and restore from tape. We got very successful at doing that. Dell always wanted to spend days troubling shooting our problems, and I just couldn’t do that with production machines. For every minute they were down we were losing money.

    Good luck.

    –ken

  12. JAyBOD

     /  August 21, 2006

    I too am experiencing “issues” restoring data to a PV220S hung off a PERC 4/DC installed in a PE2650 running W2k3 Server (Latest BIOS, Drivers, FW, and patches all around.)

    Data from tape is coming from BackupExec 10.0 with LTO2 drives and going to the system above with bandwidth to spare.

    The desired restore job contains a fairly broad directory tree (10,000 across) but not necessarily very deep.

    I’m trying to restore a mere 38GB of data to a new 550GB RAID 5 volume in the 220S. A little less than halfway through the restore and the data throughput from tape starts to crawl and then stops altogether. I’m left with no logging other than Backupexec telling me “The job failed with the following error: A communications failure has occurred.” (App Event 34113).

    Any help on this would be greatly appreciated! Thanks.

  13. Dan Draper

     /  August 30, 2006

    I am having the same issue and it is frequent. I was in doing maintenance one night and I heard the unit squeeling. I looked at it and a drive had failed. I went to the KVM to log onto the server and investigate when the alarm became louder. I went back and looked and the array now had 5 bad drives. This is a production server that this is attached to and it houses our SQL server for one of our websites. Fortunately, we use replistore so I failed over to a hot spare ad I was back up. Days later the PV on the hotspare failed and I had to fail over again. I have had this happen on these 2 boxes about 3 times each in a few months.

    Dell has replaced all components in both PV’s but it still happens. I am having both replaced. I am also thinking of purchasing adaptec Raid controllers for the arrays. Has anyone tried changing from the PERC POS to another controller????

    Dan Draper

  14. Two junk 1850 x64 poweredge servers. Perc 4/dc and 220s arrays.

    I bought these with the exact same config. I have updated them all the way to the latest versions. When they transfer a lot of data.. Like a 20 gig file. Boom. They go down.

    Anyone else with W2K R2 x64 issues?

    I can’t believe two of them have the same issue! My fibre arrays are great though.

  15. Well, I’m not convinced the problem is with the PowerVault chassis or the PERC controller… at least, not in our case. We have approximately 240 Dell servers and around 25 PowerVault 220’s. Over the last year and a half, we’ve had a large number of drive failures – somewhere in the neighborhood of 35 drives, I think. Some were due to age, but others involved brand new equipment. They seemed to occur in batches, too… 10 drives in a few weeks, then nothing for several months, then another six, etc. I found the problem occurred with both PowerVaults and with servers. I also found the problem occurred not only with RAIDed drives on PERC controllers, but also with non-RAIDed drives attached to Adaptec SCSI cards (ouch!). I was so concerned at one point, I actually had the power in our server room checked for purity.

    After a while I realized something. All of the failed drives were Seagates. Through the years we’ve gotten Dell equipment with both Seagate and Fujitsu drives. The Fujitsu drives, however, haven’t had a failure (yet). I don’t know if this is coincidental, especially since the number of Seagate drives outnumber the Fujitsu drives in our shop 4 to 1, but given the number of drive failures we have experienced, the higher failure rate with the Seagate drives has grabbed my attention.

    By the way, I should note one of our drive “failures” was actually a faulty backplane in the 2650, not the drive itself.

  16. Rusty,

    Interesting theory about the drives failures. I honestly don’t remember which kind we had, and I’m not about to go pulling drives out of our remaining system.

    In our case I’m still 85% certain that it is the PERC cards that are the problems (at least with our crashes). We had what I felt were an exceeding large number of drive failures with these PV220s units. More than with all of my other Dell servers combined.

    What our final solution (even though it sucked) to not have any hot spares. When a drive failed, we kicked everyone of the server, and did a manual failover. This worked every time. Yes it meant down time (of about 15 minutes) but it was clean. But when we would try and do it with a global hot spare, every time it would crash the server hard and corrupt the disks such that it would require a restore from tape. At the end we were able to do that in just over 18 hours.

    Yes I think something is wrong with the PowerVault 220s particularly given the large number of drive failures, but there are JBODs (Just a Bunch of Disks) boxes, with the “smarts” being on the PERC card. And the PERC cards just couldn’t handle these units under load.

    But hey, in my case it doesn’t matter any more because I’ve replaced all of my production units with a NetApp Storage Appliance that is working BEAUTIFULLY.

  17. Gareth Chambers

     /  September 20, 2006

    There is an urgent firmware upgrade for the PERC4/DC card which I suspect is the cause of this. I’m just about to put this on after yet another failure with our 220S.

  18. Anthony

     /  September 21, 2006

    Hi,

    Just thought I’d poke around to see if any Powervault 220’s were going cheap… and I bumped into this. Its interesting to here of the problems so I thought I must add in mine. I had an adaptec dual channel scsi controller with brand new fuji drives that fell off the raid volume when I hit the db really hard. I swapped all sorts and got really hacked off, thinking that raid never really does save your bacon when the drives go offline reporting no errors whatsoever anywhere which makes it hard to fix. Eventually I plugged brand new adaptec U320 round cables from the controller to the drives on one line instead of through the enternal scsi connector and I have not had a single failure since, period. I guess the connectors changing from 68pin to vhdi was too cheap and nasty to tollerate under load. Ho hum, I nearly threw the drives back at fuji as a last resort.

    Now I thought I’d start to spread the SQL DB across controllers and spindles to get a speed increase. I was looking at an ‘upmarket’ enclosure but now I’m worried about the 220 :)…. still from what you guys have said todate, get firmware uptodate on the perc4 and stay away from a global hotspare. (of course just to test this out I could setup a 220 and thrash the living daylights out of it and pull a drive to test of under load that the hotspare kicks in!)…. and practice recovery if it dont!

    Anthony

  19. I’ve run a PowerVault 220S without any issues for over four years now and until I switched to newer PowerEdge 1850 servers with a PERC 4DC card in it I didn’t have a single issue.

    Now I find that the PowerVault frequently loses communications, reports that the hard drives are bad, claims that the entire enclosure has failed etc. I’m entirely convinced that there is an issue with the PERC 4/DC cards and the PowerVault 220S after reading this thread. I’ve spent over $3000 replacing the power supplies, EMMs, and backplane as well as bad drives etc. In short, I’ve replaced every component in the PowerVault 220S Enclosure

    I’ve replaced every component (including new hard drives) in the PV 220 to no avail. Thus, it has to be the host, or in this case the PERC 4/DC cards I was assured would work with the PV 220S. I’m very disappointed, and I feel all of your pain and frustration.

    Has anyone come up with a working solution? I’m going to try swapping out the PERC 4/DC cards with a PERC 3/DC (which worked fine previously) and see if it works (even though the Dell Sales Technician informed me that there were “heating” issues with the PERC 3/DC in PowerEdge 1850 Servers. I’m not sure I trust their technical knowledge on this matter at this point.

    Dell you really let me down on this one.

  20. Wayne,

    I feel your pain and I wish you luck. As you can see from this discussion that now has a “working” solution. My particular problems were with both the PERC 3 and PERC 4 controllers in PowerEdge 2650.

    Let me know if going back to the PERC 3 helps and good luck, and yes I agree that Dell does not know what they are talking about when it comes to this product set.

  21. I have a 220S, and its connected to an adaptec scsi controller.(160) I am doing backup to disk, and periodically the disk pack goes offline. A reboot brings it back online, but the next night during backups, it goes again. Diagnostics show a bad disk, but it seems fine after a reboot.

    I too am very disappointed with my purchase.

    I do not have a perc controller in my Dell 2850.

  22. Don

     /  May 1, 2007

    It is with somewhat perverse satisfaction that I read these posts. I cannot say how amazingly underwhelmed I am with the entire Dell product line, the PowerVaults leading the way. The complete and utter failure of our production PV220S and Dell’s complete oblivious approach to “Customer Support” enabled me to ban Dell purchases and move up to an Enterprise-Class vendor (Dell can dream on this front, but an EC vendor does not sell $500 laptops out the backdoor). Our new Sun Servers, Storagetek Arrays, and Apple MacPros (yes, running XP and/or Vista) and MacBooks have made us all vow never to look back to Dell again.

    Oh, yeah — part way through the process of upgrading, Dell followed up on our complaints with a proposal to sell us EMC product. The very fact that Dell was backing them up caused us to strike EMC from our potential vendors for storage as a sort of “knee-jerk” reaction (anybody at EMC paying attention?). Perhaps if they had offered some credits to make up for the four days of lost business (we host thousands of high-traffic/e-commerce sites) we might have let them buy us lunch, but as it is — they will never see another penny from any organization that listens to me.

  23. Emerson

     /  May 16, 2007

    Hi folks,
    Now we understand the reason of the join venture with dell and EMC for corporate accounts. But in therms of price, entry level machines, HP and IBM are well positioned.. I had a good experience with an IBM DS3000 storage that I just customized to my customer. Easy, friendly and exceptional performance. I recomend.

  24. Dycie

     /  May 22, 2007

    Hi All,

    We have had a Powervault 220s for about 2 years now, and its been a lemon since day one. In the first two weeks it crashed 5 times taking the server down in the middle of the working day.
    After much heartache we got a flash dump utility from Dell which dumped the plain text log from the controller. The PERC 4/D card was detecting a failed disk in the array, and so marking it off-line. But would later would mark it as ready and try to rebuild onto it. This would happen until the log in the controller filled, hung the controller and crashed the server. Throughout this experience the Powervault showed no warnings, or visible alarms of any kind.
    Its been OK since, but the posts here have only confirmed my suspicions that a disk failure is more than likely to kill the system again.

    Thanks to the wonder of this experience and continual assurances that the hardware was perfectly fine we moved to IBM for all of our new servers and have not looked back. I have been reviewing whether to replace this heap of crap out of cycle and clearly with everyone else’s horror stories I need to.

  25. You can learn something new every day in this business. We use PV220s and 3DC/4DC PERCs. I upgrade the cache to 256MB on the controllers, blow the latest firmware on the PERCs and ZEMMs, used matched drives with matching firmware in every array (including hotspare – no global) and do a read/write burn-in for 10 days. We have RAID 5 and RAID 10 arrays. I did receive a 4DC from Dell with a bad connector, once. Seagate DX10 firmware eliminates disconect issues. I have Quantum, Fuji and Seagate U160 & U320 drives and they all come from the same lots. Not one failure. We use Diskeeper and we love it. If we could afford a EC solution, I would use it as I come from Compaq ISSG Competitive analisys and you can induce all kinds of failures in these boxes as well as other manufactures JBODs. Drive rebuilds are particularly precarious and Dell support does not documant any step-by-step procedures to do this. Without going into great lengths – try this.

    Use a Dell box (I found it can be any) to check consistency and low-level the drive. If you have rebooted the system with the failing drive wait until amber light comes back on as the PERC is recognizing the failure again and setting up to prep failover. I insure the replacement drive is same as the failed one (firmware also). Unplug and replace. It begins rebuilding and after it completes, reboot after hours. Had to do this in 2550, 2650 & 2850 internal drives but have had no failures in PV220s (knockonwood). I have bought new product and used and wound up having to always test, burn-in and blow firmware in any event. In several burn-in sessions, I have lost a couple of drives, mostly Seagates. A little hint – If you are using Seagate OEM drives with firmware 0007 or lower on PERC controllers, you are asking for trouble.

  26. We have been having issues with the PowerVault 220 for a couple years now. After physically moving a server, and the attached array, 3 times and each time having an issue with the PV recognizing the physical drives, we think we finally came across a fix.

    First of all, verify you are connecting the array to the right SCSI card after the move. In one scenario, we had two scsi cards and had “failed” physical and “offline” logical drives when the array was attached to each card. This added a couple hours of troubleshooting.

    TIP: Watch the bootup sequence and notice which SCSI BIOS recognizes the attached drives. An Adaptec controller will list the physical drives attached to its interface during the bootup sequence.

    Finally after reading these (and many other) forums, we upgraded the PERC4/DC firmware to 350O and the drives were finally recognized (when connected to the right controller). However, we had to find the firmware upgrade on Dell’s ftp site (not the website) at http://ftp.us.dell.com/scsi-raid/.

    And, thanks to Ben Gordy at Dell, we got a direct link to the latest firmware for the PERC4/DC: http://ftp.us.dell.com/scsi-raid/RAID_FRMW_LX_R130906.BIN

    As a side note, your OS, particularly Linux, may not recognize the drives after bootup. For Linux, run “fdisk -l” to list all the physical drives attached to the system. If you see your array drive(s), try to mount them based on the device.

    Example: mount /dev/sdb1 /mount_dir

  27. Just thought I’d say something nice about the 220’s! I’ve had 10 or so of them attached to Perc 4’s for between 3 and 4 years now, never missed a beat. Until today when a blower went. Still this proves they can be reliable sometimes! ๐Ÿ™‚

  28. Robin,

    Glad to hear that yours have worked great. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you that you never run into all the problems others have faced.

  29. BW

     /  October 17, 2007

    I have 2 Powervault 220’s and the only issue I have had in 3 years was (2)Hardrives went bad and DELL replaced them next day. I have nothing but nice things to say about DELL and the Powervault 220’s.

  30. Craig

     /  December 14, 2007

    Don’t really see these as enterprise systems. But still they should at least work. Ours were retired to a test lab, and it is OK if they fail there.

    Move them to test, and forget about it.

    Go with entry level Hitachi SAN when you need over 1TB of fast disk. Also SAN allows sharing that disk if you cluster.

    You are looking at 20K for sure to get started, but nothing else really ensures uptime.

    Craig

  31. soiledhalo

     /  September 5, 2008

    Hiya, just googled the 220s and came across this site. So sad to see you, as well as others experienced so much hell. Needless to say, we own a 220 and for the past 5 years it’s been very good, only had one problem when a drive in our raid 5 array died. We were able to quickly restore to the hotspare and all is well. Guess my mileage varied.

    Regards,
    Richard.

  32. Richard,

    I’m glad you have had good success with them. I really think the problems that we and others faced was due to the amount of sustained data access as well potential firmware problems. Ours have been gone for over 2 years now, replaced with NetApp equipment (a good investment for us).

    I wish you continued success (and hopefully you didn’t; jinx yourself by saying you’ve had almost no problems).

    –Ken

  33. SevenFortyOne

     /  December 9, 2008

    I too have suffered at due to the failure of a PV220 connected to a PE2800 configured as a CAD/CAM file server . This is the third time in as many years I’ve lost my array due to a drive “failure”. The first and third times a drive had not failed. However the array went offline claiming drives had failed and ultimatley forced me to restore from backup.

    Last time (the second time) a drive began to fail but the 220 never warned me. When it fianlly did fail, I discovered that for two weeks the file system had been slowly getting corrupted. This meant my backups were corrupted as well. Not only did I loose about three week’s worth of data, I also had no idea what data was good and what data was bad. I nearly had a nervous breakdown over this.

    This is the last staw for me. If I can’t get a budget allocation from my boss to replace this unit, I’ll buy the replacement myself – or find a new job.

    I’ve always been a Dell supporter. For the most part, I’ve had very good luck with thier products. I’ve been VERY disappointed with the PE2800/PV220 that we have though. My reputation within the company is ruined and so is my confidence in Dell.

  34. Simon Barrett

     /  April 12, 2009

    Just to say a big thank you to all who’ve posted here.

    I’ve been seriously considering these as there as some going for not much on eBay.co.uk right now.

    However, from what I’ve read here, I shall no longer be looking at these units.

  35. Don

     /  February 23, 2010

    This unit is only a backplane and is not resposible for drive failures or array issues. The controller card is responsible for the array, and drives do fail. If you are loosing data because of a single drive failure you need to take a serious look at what RAID config you are using. Also, make sure that your RAID card has sufficient memory and a battery backup so you do not loose cached data. If you do not have a battery then you MUST turn of ALL write caching. Again, this unit is only as good as the controller card and the drives it is populated with.

  36. Wow it sure has been a long time since I wrote this post.

    Don, you are correct about the controller card being the brains of the system. If I remember correctly back 4+ years ago, that all of systems were running some version of a PERC card and all had battery backup with the max amuont of memory available at the time.

    The issues we faced with these devices were more from the design and support side of Dell. They were spec’d by Dell for our load needs. When drives failed (and they do, it is fact of life) instead of starting to automatically rebuild on the hot-spare the entire cabinet would go offline. Was it the powervault or the PERC attached to it. Dell never determine and neither did we.

    We scaped these units and went with NetApp and have never been happier.

  37. Hello all. I am an enterprise storage technician with Dell technical support since 2007 and completely understand your frustrations expressed her (and for others who are experiencing similar issues reading this article) but would like to let you know that the issue is not with the system itself but a set of small, light blue plastic spacers or washers, as they are sometimes called, that rest between the screw posts of the EMM connector on the back of the unit. They served a purpose to prevent you from putting the cable on backwards but over time they will eventually cause an otherwise rock solid array to seemingly start failing regularly. Over time the physical connectivity starts to break down and merely touching the cabling will cause the storage array to go offline or multiple drives to report failure.

    Simply removing these by using a small flat tool should eliminate further issues and since these boxes can be found relatively cheap I would say they they are good devices to have around in a pinch or on a tight budget. Email me if you have any questions or comments but I have personally dealt with these on a daily basis and removal of these has been the fix to many of the issues encountered except for the occassional legitimate drive failure.

  38. This is the first that I’ve heard about this, but it is potentially good news for those who still have them. If someone else can verify this solution that would be great, and may bring relief to a lot owners.

  39. Wookie

     /  May 20, 2010

    I blew the dust off my 220s after reading this.

    I found the blue bits that are referenced above… I’m not sure entirely how plastic will cause the array to be unstable but i’m willing to give it a shot.

    SCSI disks are cheap now.

  40. jonzhuang

     /  May 27, 2010

    Just had a 3rd hdd failure on the 4th year. Recently configured a RAID5+Hot-spare volume. However, the hot-spare did not kick in when one of my drive failed. Is this due to firmware issues? Anyone having similar issues?

    I am getting no concrete information yet from my Dell support

  41. scott

     /  June 9, 2011

    Hello,
    I just had this problem occur on an old Netware 6(I know Netware 6). Has any one tried removing the blue spacer on the EMM to see if it fixed there problem with these units(as stated by Allen Towsdale on May 18, 2010). I am about to recreate the pool and volume but was wondering if his suggestion actually worked. Any input would be greatly appreciated.

  42. I tried removing the blue spacer like suggested earlier and this totally fixed my problem. *At least so far it seems* Copy speeds went from abysmal to fantastic after this change. I’m not sure if it removing the blue spacer, power cycling the PV220s, or just the reseating of of the SCSI cable. But it looks to be working great now.

  43. Allan R Trowsdale

     /  December 24, 2015

    @ meltingrobot Glad the solution worked for you. This was a critical flaw in the connector design in that the electrical contacts (fine copper pins within the cable & connector) are not long enough with the spacers in place.

  1. 51 Hours in 3 Days at Nerhood Weblog
  2. Goodbye Dell, Hello NetApp (almost) at Nerhood Weblog
  3. Are Dell PowerVault 220s Junk? « What KNot

Leave a Reply

