Galley Boy – World’s Best Hamburger

When I was home for the Thanksgiving holiday, I had the opportunity to eat not once, but twice at Swensons, and of course I had their famous Galley Boy. For those of you not familiar with Swensons (and unless you are from the Akron, OH area you wouldn’t be), it was found in 1934 as a drive-in, and it still operates that way to this day (although some locations may now have seating). By drive-in, I mean that you pull you car up to the building and a waiter (now waitress too) will run out to your car take your order, and then deliver your food to your car, where you eat it from a tray. Truly a peace of Americana.

Well back to the Galley Boy, it is their signature double cheeseburger (made from special cuts of beef ground daily) with two special sauces, on a homemade bun toasted with butter. At $2.25 it is the best deal in town. If you are ever in the Akron area, you must stop at one of their locations. Now I just need to find a way to have one sent to me every month.

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. mmmmmmmmmmmmmm…………………… Galley Boy………………………… We’re heading to Massillon this weekend, and there’s a new-ish Swenson’s in nearby Jackson. Maybe have to convince Amy and the in-laws to take in a burger 🙂

  2. That sounds so delicious. I am jealous that you were able to experience that. Great post and a really good review. Keep up the good work.

  3. ashley

     /  March 13, 2007

    It is “America’s best cheeseburger” and the Cadillac of drive ins. There is nothing quite like it. I live in California, and I always make several special trips to Swenson’s when I am in town. They have 17 milkshake favors and the zuccini sticks (w/ranch) and the salad boy (a vegitarian version of the galley boy) are to die for!!!

  4. Ryan

     /  April 26, 2007

    The Galley Boy is one of the best things you’ll ever eat. Next time your in the Northeast Ohio area and suddenly your taste buds automatically activate, it is an autoresponse mechanism letting you know the close proximity of the nearest Swenson’s.

    Zach and Andrea should eat there tonight. They’ve got plenty of time to build the deck later.

  5. I know this is almost sacrilege but there might actually be a better burger joint then Swensons, it’s called Five Guys. Note I said burger joint, and not burger. The Galley Boy is still the best burger hands down, but Five Guy’s fries are out of this world and when combined with a really good burger you get the best meal (at least here in the Mid-Atlantic). Granted the Galley Boy will always be my favorite, but when I can’t get one, Five Guys does nicely.

  6. Looking at their website, looks like there are a few Five Guys locations in NE OH. Might have to look them up next time the wife and I are in the Cleveland-ish area…

  7. Joe Blow

     /  December 8, 2007

    The double cheese burger is the best burger ever!!

    Perfect with just meat, cheese, onions, pickles and mustard!! Nothing else needed.

    Melts in your mouth!!

  8. Cassie

     /  July 13, 2011

    I relocated to California and go to swensons every time I’m home I gotta say my galley boy craving is through the roof right now… I’ve google imaged pictures and read so much about them even tried to find the secret recipe! No burger in LA compares I’ve had, in and out, umami, father’s office, the shack, the counter and the last I must try is apple pan, sigh. My car still has a swensons menu inside and will go down with my car! I am missing it greatly

    gosh after reading my post you probably all think I weigh 200 lbs haha.

Leave a Reply

