Can you hear me now? NO!

Verizon’s annoying commercials proclaiming their best in the country network use the tag line, Can you hear me now? Well I can’t!

After two years of Cingular service, we needed new phones and wanted to make some changes to our plan. After a couple of months of reviewing all the features and pricing, we decided to go with Verizon. [rant on] I’m going to rant for a minute about how companies these days do nothing to keep their existing customers, they are only trying to entice know ones. Cingular did nothing to make it advantageous for us to stay. [rant off]

Well, I’m sitting in my office and I get absolutely no signal. Occasionally I get 1 blip, but most of the time nothing. At least with Cingular I got 1 bar and could reliably receive calls (now hearing anything clearly was a different issue). With Verizon’s network, my calls go right to voicemail. I am really annoyed (and stuck with thing for 2 years).

The only potential saving grace is that they make wireless amplifiers for building that can help get the signal distributed within the building. There are a couple of products with the PowerMax DA4000SBR from Digital Antenna being one of them. The units cost about $700, I figure by the time you add installation and the remaining cabling and antennas it will be about $1200. So I might (just maybe) be able to convince the powers that be to get one installed in the building to improve everyone’s reception. Stay tuned to see if I can make that happen.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Re: your rant regarding keeping existing customers… this is so true, and something I’ve been putting up with from DirecTV. They’ll offer new subscribers free HD receivers or free DVRs or free this and that, but when I, a subscriber of over two years, call to get an HD receiver I’m told it’ll be $700+. However, I can get a $10 giftcard from Target if I sign up for the Starz! movie package. Yay.

    My recourse, of course, is to wait for a nice HD promotion from Dish Network. They’re down to $300 for new customers getting HD DVRs. That comes down a little and I’m gone from DirecTV. Serves them right, just like it served Cingular right with you.

  2. I am sorry to hear that you are having problems with Verizon Wireless. I have always been a big fan of them since I switched from Cingular. With Cingular, I could never get a signal anywhere. I have had Verizon for over four years now with no reception problems at all. What type of phone do you have? Maybe there is a problem with your phone.

  3. It may be the phone. I went with an LG VX8100. It got good recommendations regarding signal strength from consumer reports. Other people in my group (being the manager I’m the only one with an office) have different phones and they have similar, but not as bad reception problems.

    One the plus side, when I do have a signal my new phone seems much clearer than what I was getting from Cingular.

    I don’t know what (if anything) I’m going to do, but I’ll be sure and let everyone know.

  4. Amy

     /  March 1, 2006

    Hi Ken: Hang in there. I have been a verizon user since they bought AirTouch. Knock on wood- no problems yet (5years).

  5. I have always had excellent signal with cingular, even when other people complained about their lack of signal. I will probably stick with them for a while.

Leave a Reply

