Insecure Protocols, Passwords, Ettercap, and PHP

So I was doing my daily web browsing looking for something cool, when I came across something that for the first time really hit home how completely unsecured the Internet is and how simple it is for people to grab your passwords.

Now, I’ve been on/using the Internet in one shape or form since 1987, and have seen things migrate from the nearly open educational network that the amazing and scary thing that it is today. The problem lies in the fact that a lot of the Internet still uses the same insecure protocols that were popular back in 1987; in particular POP/IMAP email authentication along with basic HTML and others.

I’m an IT professional (granted I’m in management now, but still …) but I was taken back by how utterly easy it is to now capture username and password information. So your thinking no big deal, I use a “secure” website to access my online banking, etc. Well do you also use a different password for every site you visit?

What really hit home for me was this post about the Wall of Shame on the Irongeek site. What the site has is some very simple PHP to display the username/password combination sniffed out by Ettercap.

Ettercap is a suite for man in the middle attacks on LAN. It features sniffing of live connections, content filtering on the fly and many other interesting tricks. It supports active and passive dissection of many protocols (even ciphered ones) and includes many features for network and host analysis.

Ettercap is an amazing piece of software with many features. The main site only offers the source code, so knowing that I needed to run the Irongeek’s page on my Linux box, I started to compile the ettercap code. My box was missing one of the libraries and seeing as how I only wanted a proof of concept anyway. I downloaded a precompiled Windows binary. Within about 2 minutes I had everyone up and running and I was capturing the username and passwords of the traffic crossing my network. Wow, that’s really scary.

Today’s little 30 minute diversion is going to really cause me to change the way I use the Internet, and secure my password information. I’m going to look at SSH/SSL tunneling for all my data when I can’t use a secure stream.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Dear Techie,

    When My husband is done his school, can you give him a job so he stops messing with my computer?

    Thanks,

    That girl who isn’t identified by her “Ipod”

  2. Lori,

    When he’s done with school, have him send me his resume. While I don’t hire very often, I will happily review his resume and provide him with my thoughts and advice. Also I’ll share it with some other IT Managers that I know.

  3. “Today’s little 30 minute diversion is going to really cause me to change the way I use the Internet, and secure my password information. I’m going to look at SSH/SSL tunneling for all my data when I can’t use a secure stream.”

    Actually i have been reading and aparently it’s not even secure when using tunnels, or secure connections via https

    Not totally sure 😛 just checking it out for myself 🙂

    You can also use it to test if you have been arp poisoned and it will return with the ip of the poisoner

  4. you really should be aware of the fact that changing to SSL/SSH isn’t going to protect you. I’m currently working with ettercap, and working with the openSSL and SSLDUMP libraries, ettercap can crack SSL using fake certs that copy all the neccisary fields.

  5. So Jaymill do you have any suggestions then as how we might better secure our traffic?

Leave a Reply

