In the Company of Ogres

In the Company of Ogres

I just finished a new novel by A. Lee Martinez titled In the Company of Ogres. In one of my not so typical (at least since having kids) undertakings, I finished this book in one day. Martinez follows in the Robert Aspin Myth Adventures style of fantasy writing by combing extreme absurdity, whimsical comedy, complete stupidity, and a protagonist who keeps getting himself killed, but can never seem to stay dead.

The story revolves around Never Dead Ned, a particularly boring, unenthusiastic, and seemingly average solider with no ambitions who just got transferred from the accounting department in the Brute’s Legion to become the company commander of the Ogre Company. What follows is good work that mixes humor, folly, military daring, and some truly wild characters in to pretty good tale.

I would definitely say that is worth the read. 3.5 out 5 stars.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. ***Ned, a particularly boring, unenthusiastic, and seemingly average solider with no ambitions…***

    Though, I am only at Chapter 10, I wouldnt say NED has NO ambition. Like me, its just been burned out of him with the potholes along Life’s highway.

    Im considering making this my theme song:

    Mama Cass Elliott>>>

    ONE WAY TICKET~

    Call the village band out
    Bid me good bye
    Everybody stand outside and cry
    Never thought so many
    Thought me so dear
    I’d be happy any place but here

    Chorus:
    One way ticket take me anywhere
    North bound south bound i don’t even care
    I know the grass is greener there

    People in the city
    Leave you alone
    Everyday is pretty much your own
    One among the many
    Year after year
    I’d be happy any place but here

    Chorus:
    One way ticket take me any where
    North bound south bound I don’t even care
    I know the grass is greener there

    Look over the passing train
    And there I am
    No matter were I am
    I’m passing through

    Chorus:
    One way ticket take me any wheres….

    HARRRUMPH / Alex the OGRE of the HOUSE OF YELLOW (should of been Orange, since Im Dutch, but the housepainter is color-deficient!

  2. SIR OGRE

     /  May 4, 2007

    Sir Ogre raises your 3.5 and will affirm 4.5+ out of 5 demon stars!

    I just finished the book and am saddened at having to go back to important stuff, like my diabetes manual, or a book about Pacific NWest history.

    Now that I have a patio built, I no longer have a FUN read.

    Someone tell Martinez that SIR OGRE expects a sequel, or at least a movie version by Tim Burton.

    HARRUMPH/ Alex the OGRE

  3. Thanks, you wrote wonderfull.

Leave a Reply

