How to Get Your Kids to Read

While reading the online mussing of one of my favorite authors, Orson Scott Card, he mentions a great way to get your kids to read a book that he recommends,

Or you can slip it to a twelve-year-old or ten-year-old, after you’ve read it yourself, and say, “I think you’re old enough to read this now.” (Those are the magic words, you know, to make a book intriguing. The only words more powerful are, “I think you’re almost old enough to read this. But maybe not. I think we’ll wait a while.” And then you “forget” and leave it out where they can see it.)

Something that I’ll have to remember (and use) for when my kids are a little older.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

