Open Systems SnapVault (OSSV) Web Reporting

Open Systems SnapVault (OSSV) is a data replication/protection software from NetApp. OSSV runs on Windows, UNIX/LINUX, and VMWare ESX servers and it replicates block level changes back to a NetApp filer. We use this technology to replicate the data on all of branch office servers back to our datacenter. This replication allowed us to remove the need to perform tape backups in each branch office.

One of the strengths of OSSV is its simplicity, but that is also it’s weakness. The reporting and monitoring capabilities of OSSV can be cumbersome. You can get a lot of status information from the filer itself via the snapvault status command. However, the one thing that you can’t tell from filer is how far along the process is. That information is only available when the snapvault status -l command is run on the primary system (your Windows/UNIX/VMWare server). With windows that means that you either need to get either console access (via. Remote Desktop, VNC, etc.) or command line access with something like PsExec.

We’ve been running this way for almost two years, but I finally got tired of all of the typing. So I developed a web based reporting tool that gathers all of information and presents it in a nice graphical clickable interface.

The front screen of this php web application displays the status of all currently configured snapvault relationships. It does this by executing the snapvault status via an encrypted ssh key-based session to the filer. The resulting output is shown below.

OSSV Web Reporting Overview Screen

For each specific qtree you can click to get the detail about that status of that relationship just as if you had run the snapvault status -l command on the primary server. Thereby showing you how many files have been transferred, how far along you are on the current file and what errors have been encountered. All this is accomplished via winexe linux command. Winexe remotely executes commands on WindowsNT/2000/XP/2003 systems from GNU/Linux just like PsExec does from windows.

OSSV Server Detail Web Report

If anyone is interested in using this, I can supply you with my really ugly code. Finally a big shout out the phpSysInfo project from where I borrowed the CSS styling.

Update: I’ve finally put the code online for anyone to access.  You can download the original code from my box.net account. Get the ossvreport.zip file.

Update 2: Box.net is no longer allowing easy public access so I’ve put it up on dropbox.com and you should be able to get the ossvreport.zip file from there now.

Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. Bill

     /  September 11, 2008

    I would like to see your ugly code, if I can.
    Thanks
    Bill

  2. I am interested in this as well. Thank you.

  3. Hi,

    This is a good web app you have written is it possible i could get the code.

    Thanks
    Gary

  4. This is the best of this sort of thing I’ve seen. has a lot of value and OSSV is good for thing it does (remote site backup)… but management of it (even with NetApp’s tools like Protection Manager) is not fun.

    Thought about GPl’ing this? Rock on Ken.

  5. Rick,

    Thanks for the kind thoughts about my little hack job. As far as GPL’ing it we’ll see. You are more than welcome to what I’ve done. I have hopes to possibly expand it over time. In fact I’m playing with A-SIS in the NetApp 7.3 simulator and may add that reporting to the next version.

    –ken

  6. mdr

     /  January 29, 2009

    This link has steps to configure Netapp Snapvault : http://geekyfacts.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=64:snapvault .

    Can you publish ur code and document for OSSV reporter?

  7. Hi,
    I am very intrested in testing your application. Colud I get access to your code ?

  8. Hi. I would like to use your “ugly” code. Can you please send it to me?
    Thanks.
    Luis

  9. Hello again,

    My previous message which was sent about 1 week ago is “awaiting moderation”….

    I’m still interested on using/testing your scripts. Can you please send them to me?

    Sorry to double-post, but I’m doing this in the hope that it would trigger some kind of auto-notification mechanism…

    Regards

  10. the web reporting for ossv snapvaults would be useful for me… can you send me the code? Thanks in advance.

  11. EP

     /  April 26, 2010

    I’am interested in your web interface.

    Thx in advance

  12. I’ve updated the post with a link the code. You can download it from the following link ossvreport.zip.

  13. I can’t download the file from box.net. I even created my own account.

  14. Frank

     /  January 21, 2011

    Unfortunately I’m not able to download the file from box.net. Is it possible to provide another download link or send it to me via e-mail?
    Thanks in advance.

  15. Gary Ruberg

     /  July 8, 2011

    Would love to see your code. I think Box.net wants one to upgrade a free account to be able to download. Any other way to see your code?
    We like OSSV but is is difficult to troubleshoot at times.
    Thanks.

  16. It seems that the box.net location is no longer working, so I’ve uploaded to dropbox.com. You should be able to download via ossvreport.zip. Let me if it works, if not then I’ll find someplace else.

  17. Jen

     /  November 28, 2011

    Hi, I’m a newbie when it comes to ossv and php ;). Would you please elaborate more on how you get the output into the php web format? I have everything in place but would love to understand the steps in getting this accomplished… thanks so much

Leave a Reply

