Fixing Windows Server 2008 R2 Boot Problem

I was playing around with a couple of Windows Server 2008 R2 virtual machines today, and accidentally messed up the boot records somehow. After playing around with a number of partition and disk recovery tools. I finally ran across this post called Windows Server 2008 R2 always boots into recovery console that had a solution that worked for me even though my problem was different. I wanted to record the steps I used so that I could find them later.

I used their Method 2 which worked for me. here are the steps:

  1. Put the Windows Server 2008 R2 installation disc in the disc drive, and then start the computer.
  2. Press any key when the message indicating “Press any key to boot from CD or DVD …”. appears.
  3. Select a language, time, currency, and a keyboard or another input method. Then click Next.
  4. Click Repair your computer.
  5. Click the operating system that you want to repair, and then click Next.
  6. In the System Recovery Options dialog box, click Command Prompt.
  7. Type bootrec /RebuildBcd, and then press ENTER

Update – April 10, 2017
Last night we had a similar problem, but unfortunately the above steps did not correct the problem. After doing bootrec command it found the boot records, but still didn’t work we then tried running x:\sources\recovery\StartRep.exe which finally resolved our problem.

They also offered up another method to try, but I didn’t need to go that far but here is as well for future reference.

  1. Put the Windows Server 2008 R2 installation disc into the disc drive, and then start the computer.
  2. Press a key when the message indicating “Press any key to boot from CD or DVD …”. appears.
  3. Select a language, a time, a currency, and a keyboard or another input method, and then click Next.
  4. Click Repair your computer.
  5. Click the operating system that you want to repair, and then click Next.
  6. In the System Recovery Options dialog box, click Command Prompt.
  7. Type BOOTREC /FIXMBR, and then press ENTER.
  8. Type BOOTREC /FIXBOOT, and then press ENTER.
  9. Type Drive:\boot\Bootsect.exe /NT60 All, and then press ENTER.

They also note that the Drive in step 9 is the drive where the Windows Server 2008 R2 installation media is located.

Hopefully I’ll never need to use this again, but if I do now it is documented. Also there is KB article #927392 on Microsoft’s site called How to use the Bootrec.exe tool in the Windows Recovery Environment to troubleshoot and repair startup issues in Windows that details the different options as well.

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Jamshid

     /  June 17, 2013

    Both of these methos not work for me 😦

  2. Sam MM

     /  January 17, 2014

    try startrep.exe it should fix it.

  3. Will I lose data if I do it?

  4. Reblogged this on MENN and commented:
    Good, but these methods are not working for me. I’m having recovery console problem.

  5. Jerome

     /  March 31, 2015

    For all those who don’t know the lettre of your removable USB type this in the command prompt:
    wmic logicaldisk get caption,description,filesystem
    Then a list appears with all harddisks, removables drives etc 🙂

  6. Igor

     /  November 12, 2015

    Life saver solution 1

    If someone has raid like me be sure to prepare the drivers on cd otherwise Windows server will not see operating system that you have to troubleshot

    Thanks a million

  7. Jakup

     /  December 21, 2015

    Thank you Man, You saved me 🙂 I repaired the OS boot pblm with my windows 2008 server
    WHICH WAS AS A WEB SERVER.

    I all you one faver :))

    Jack

  8. Thanks, it worked !

    I had to fully reinstall windows boot loader after having removed a fedora OS partition. My windows server 2008 R2 was not anymore booting with the error “GRUB: No such partition”

    First method did not work, but the second one yes, with the following modification

    9) Type X:\windows\system32\Bootsect.exe /NT60 All, and then press ENTER.

    Where X: is the drive where the Windows Server 2008 R2 installation media is located.

    Pier

  1. UPGRADING ACTIVE DIRECTORY TO WINDOWS 2008 R2 ADDS DOMAIN « System Admins

Leave a Reply

